Lac mantasoa

The environment

Mantasoa, a place with a rich history

Historically, Mantasoa was the stronghold of Jean Laborde, an entrepreneur at heart who served the Queen of Madagascar. Not only were cannon, rifles, swords, and gunpowder made there, but also soap, tiles, paint, crockery, etc.

The landscape, made up of valleys of red earth or laterite planted with pines and eucalyptus, gives it a unique dimension. Malagasy farmers naturally knew how to make the most of the hilly terrain in the area to establish their rice fields and market gardens, and in this way produced an enchanting setting.

Due to the preserved surroundings, the waters of Lake Mantasoa are of outstanding quality, ideal for producing the best quality caviar.

Fish farming

The first sturgeon farm in Africa and the Indian Ocean

The Acipenser fish farm comprises nineteen large ponds, a hatchery, an area dedicated to pre-growout, a feed mill and a processing workshop spread over more than 8 hectares on the banks of a river fed by Lake Mantasoa upstream. It is this same lake that hosts the sturgeon when they reach 1.5 kilos in weight, holding them in about fifty giant 25m-diameter cages.

At 1,400 metres above sea level about sixty kilometres east of Antananarivo and far removed from any industries and cities, Lake Mantasoa covers 2,000 hectares to a depth of 4 - 10 metres. It is in fact a vast impluvium that collects only rainwater and is therefore protected from pollution. The fish farming ponds are fed by the waters of this lake.

Madagascar is a very large island as big as France and Belgium combined. So the climate varies considerably depending on the region. In the highlands at Mantasoa, the climate is temperate with water at a minimum of 13°C in winter and a maximum of 25°C in summer. This singularity is called a « growth optimum », i.e. the temperature range is the very best one could hope for as the fish develop.

Fish-farming performance in Madagascar is outstanding. Currently, oocytes (unfertilised eggs) measure 2.7-2.9 mm when the fish are 6 years old and weigh 9 kg on average.
The caviar yield is also impressive, averaging 15% in the farm.

Ensuring that the sturgeon develop in comfort also entails sustainable Acipenser farming by preserving the ecosystem. So the quality of the lake water was monitored even before the first farming facilities were built there. Every day, oxygen, temperature, hydrogen potential (pH) and turbidity are checked on all farming facilities. In addition to this, the weather station monitors the rainfall, air temperature, wind speed and direction on the lake. So it is possible to predict more or less difficult times during the year and to take action accordingly. Also, sturgeon growth is an essential performance indicator that is constantly watched. Care must be taken to feed them enough without overfeeding so that they do not develop more fat than caviar. Currently, the Acipenser farm has 400 tons of fish, which means 100,000 sturgeon for over 70,000 m3 of available space giving stress-free farming for the fish.

In 2019 4.2 tons of caviar were produced, falling to 3.22 tons in 2020 due to Covid-19, but production rose to around 9 tons in 2021.

So Acipenser opted from the start for vertical integration with very few middlemen, giving it total control of production and fish-stock traceability in order to deliver outstanding caviar.

Bebe esturgeon

Farmed species

A waiting game

The Acipenser sturgeon farm is divided into two facilities called the « onshore » site and the « lake » site respectively, and includes six pure species of sturgeon producing six different caviars.

For the time being, the two caviar-producing species on the farm are the Baerii, ideal for a first taste and discovering caviar, and the Ossetra, the favourite of leading Chefs.

So it has taken ten years to build the farm and import all the species we wanted, and it will take another ten years to give each species enough time to produce its caviar.

Acipenser will have reached its cruising speed by 2029.

  • Acipenser Baerii
    Baerii

    The most widespread

    Acipenser Baerii

    The Siberian sturgeon was the first species on the farm, arriving in 2013. It takes six years for a female to give Baeri caviar. It is amber brown in colour, and you will enjoy its buttery texture and mineral, sometimes slightly fruity, notes.

  • Acipenser Gueldenstaedtii
    Gueldenstaedtii

    Chefs’ favourite

    Acipenser Gueldenstaedtii

    2014 marked the arrival of the Russian sturgeon. It takes seven years to produce Russian Ossetra caviar. Its brown grains with golden highlights will delight your taste buds with their firm texture and more tangy flavour. 2022 marks the first production of Ossetra caviar.

  • Acipenser Persicus
    Persicus

    Iran’s extinct sturgeon

    Acipenser Persicus

    This sturgeon arrived at the farm in 2016. After seven years, it gives Ossetra Persicus, known by the ancients as the mythical Iranian Oscietra. With its characteristic golden glints, firm texture and very delicate seafood flavour. This sturgeon had disappeared from CITES registers as it was thought to be extinct but it reappeared in the Acipenser farm, a ‘lucky dip’ in a batch from its supplier.

  • Acipenser Nudiventris
    Nudiventris

    The unobtainable

    Acipenser Nudiventris

    This is a rather unknown species because it is only farmed in Russia and at Acipenser. Its arrived at the farm back in 2017. In December 2022, the farm produced its first kilos of Shipova caviar with an atypical and unique taste. Eventually, this caviar will be the most precious and the most sought after by fish-farming connoisseurs.

  • Acipenser Stellatus
    Stellatus

    The smallest

    Acipenser Stellatus

    2019 was marked by the arrival of the Star sturgeon. Seven years are needed to raise it and make Sevruga caviar. Much appreciated by Russians for its anthracite grey to jet black colour, these small grains have a soft texture and powerful taste that lingers on your palate.

  • Huso Huso
    Huso Huso

    The largest both in size and weigh

    Huso huso

    Will weigh 100 kg at maturity. 2016 also marked the arrival of this sturgeon. We will have to wait ten to twenty years to collect its Beluga caviar. Its large, crunchy, light grey eggs and very mild taste will make it your favourite.

The feed mill

Feed made to measure for sturgeon

The Acipenser farm manufactures its own feed for its sturgeon in a dedicated facility called the “feed mill”. Two tons of pellets are produced on a daily basis. This practice was introduced to provide control over the entire production chain. In this way the Acipenser feed gives healthy fish, optimises their growth and produces quality caviar. Manufacturing such feed requires particular expertise because sturgeon requirements need to be matched with the technical feasibility of the machines. Sturgeon feed is composed not only of tuna meal and blue fish oil, but also non-GM plant flour such as rice bran, brewer's yeast, amino acids, soy lecithin and vitamins. No antibiotics or hormones are used, and raw materials and finished products are systematically checked, either in-house or by specialised laboratories. In order to adapt the feed to the sturgeon’s size, the feed mill produces several different grain sizes. In order to meet its environmental and corporate commitment, 78% of the raw materials are sourced from Madagascar and sourced as close as possible to the farm to reduce the carbon impact.

frog

L'environnement

Mantasoa, un lieu riche en histoire

Historiquement, Mantasoa était le fief de Jean Laborde, entrepreneur dans l’âme et fut offert à la reine de Madagascar. On y confectionnait canons, fusils, sabres, poudre mais aussi savon, tuiles, peinture, vaisselle…

Le paysage, façonné par des vallons de terre rouge que l’on appelle latérite et arboré de pins et d’eucalyptus lui donnent une dimension unique. Les paysans malgaches ont tout naturellement su tirer profit du relief vallonné de la région pour y implanter leurs rizières et cultures maraichères, complétant ainsi ce décor enchanteur.

De par son environnement limitrophe préservé, le lac de Mantasoa bénéficie d’une qualité d’eau exceptionnelle, idéale pour y produire un caviar de grande qualité.

L'élevage

Première ferme d’esturgeons d’Afrique et de l’Océan Indien

La ferme d’élevage Acipenser, ce sont dix-neuf grands bassins, une écloserie, une zone dédiée au pré-grossissement, une provenderie et un atelier de transformation sur un site terrestre d’une surface de plus de 8 hectares au bord de la rivière alimentée par le lac de Mantasoa situé en amont. C’est ce même lac, comprenant environ une quarantaine de structures géantes de 25 mètres de diamètre, qui accueille les esturgeons lorsqu’ils atteignent le poids d'1,5 kilo.

Perché à 1400 mètres d'altitude à une soixantaine de kilomètres à l'est d'Antananarivo, le lac de Mantasoa s'étend sur une surface de 2000 hectares avec une profondeur de 4 à 10 mètres, loin de toutes industries et villes. Il a pour caractéristique d’être un impluvium, c’est-à-dire qu’il ne reçoit que des eaux de pluie, le protégeant ainsi de la pollution. Les bassins de la pisciculture sont alimentés par les eaux de ce lac.

Madagascar est une très grande île atteignant la taille de la France métropolitaine et la Belgique réunies. Les conditions climatiques y sont donc très diversifiées en fonction des régions. Sur le haut plateau de Mantasoa, le climat est tempéré. En effet, l’eau est entre 13°C au minimum en hiver et 25°C au maximum en été. Cette particularité a pour nom un « optimum de croissance », c’est-à-dire que la plage de température est la meilleure espérée pour le développement du poisson.

Les performances d’élevage à Madagascar sont exceptionnelles. Actuellement, la taille des ovocytes (œufs pas encore fécondés) à l’âge de 6 ans avec un poids moyen de 9 kg est de 2,7 à 2,9 mm.
Le rendement caviar est lui aussi impressionnant avec une moyenne de 15 % au sein de la ferme.

Assurer le confort constant des esturgeons, c’est aussi permettre la pérennité de la ferme Acipenser en préservant son écosystème. Ainsi, la qualité de l’eau du lac a été suivie avant même d’y construire les premières structures d’élevage. Chaque jour, l’oxygène, la température, le potentiel hydrogène (pH) et la turbidité sont contrôlés sur l’ensemble des sites d’élevage. A cela s’ajoute la surveillance de la station météo comprenant : la pluviométrie, la température de l’air, la vitesse et le sens du vent sur le site lac. Il est donc possible de prévoir des épisodes plus ou moins difficiles dans l’année et de prendre des mesures en fonction. Aussi, la croissance de l’esturgeon, indicateur de performance incontournable, est constamment observée. Il faut veiller à le nourrir suffisamment sans le sur-nourrir pour qu’il ne développe pas plus de gras que de caviar. Actuellement, la ferme Acipenser dispose de 400 tonnes de poissons, ce qui représente 100 000 esturgeons pour plus de 70 000 m3 d’espace disponible permettant un élevage sans stress pour l’esturgeon.

La production de caviar en 2019 a été de 4,2 tonnes, en 2020, elle fut de 3,22 tonnes en raison de la Covid-19 et en 2021, la production s’élevait à environ 9 tonnes.

Ainsi, Acipenser a opté dès le départ pour une intégration verticale avec très peu d’intermédiaires lui permettant d’avoir une maîtrise totale de sa production et de la traçabilité du cheptel afin de livrer des caviars exceptionnels.

sturgeon

Les espèces élevées

Un jeu de patience

La ferme d’esturgeons Acipenser se divise en deux sites appelés respectivement le site « terre » et le site « lac » et comprend six espèces pures d’esturgeons produisant six caviars différents.

Pour le moment, les deux espèces produisant du caviar au sein de la ferme sont le Baerii, idéal pour une première dégustation et découverte du caviar ainsi que l’Osciètre, le favori des grands Chefs.

Ainsi, il aura fallu dix ans pour construire la ferme et importer l’ensemble des espèces souhaitées et il faudra dix nouvelles années pour laisser le temps à chaque espèce de produire son caviar.

En 2029, Acipenser aura atteint son rythme de croisière.

  • Acipenser Baerii
    Baerii

    Le plus répandu

    Acipenser Baerii

    L’esturgeon Sibérien fut la première espèce présente au sein de la ferme et arriva en 2013. Il faut six ans pour qu’une femelle donne du caviar Baerii. De couleur brune ambrée, vous apprécierez sa texture beurrée et ses notes minérales, parfois légèrement fruitées.

  • Acipenser Gueldenstaedtii
    Gueldenstaedtii

    Le favori des Chefs

    Acipenser Gueldenstaedtii

    L’année 2014 marqua l’arrivée de l’esturgeon Russe. Il met sept ans à produire le caviar Osciètre. Ses grains bruns aux reflets mordorés raviront vos papilles par leur texture ferme et leur saveur plus iodée. 2022 marque la première production du caviar Osciètre.

  • Acipenser Persicus
    Persicus

    L’esturgeon disparu d’Iran

    Acipenser Persicus

    Cet esturgeon est arrivé au sein de la ferme en 2016. Il offre l’Osciètre persicus en sept ans. Ses reflets dorés, sa texture ferme et sa saveur marine très délicate lui sont caractéristiques. Cet esturgeon avait disparu des registres de la CITES étant considéré comme une espèce éteinte mais a refait surface au sein de la ferme Acipenser, suite à la réception d’une enveloppe surprise de son fournisseur.

  • Huso Huso
    Huso Huso

    Le plus gros

    Huso huso

    Autant par sa taille que par son poids qui atteindra 100 kg à maturité. L’année 2016 marque également l’arrivée de cet esturgeon. Il faudra attendre entre dix et quinze ans pour prélever son caviar dénommé Beluga. Ses gros œufs gris clairs croquants et son goût très doux feront de lui votre favori.

  • Acipenser Nudiventris
    Nudiventris

    L’introuvable

    Acipenser Nudiventris

    C'est une espèce plutôt méconnue car élevée en Russie et chez Acipenser seulement. Son arrivée au sein de la ferme date de 2017. Au bout de huit ans, la ferme espère vous faire découvrir son caviar appelé Shipova, aux nuances grises et vertes, à la texture robuste et au goût noisette. A terme, ce caviar sera le plus précieux et le plus recherché par les connaisseurs au sein de l’élevage.

  • Acipenser Stellatus
    Stellatus

    Le plus petit

    Acipenser Stellatus

    L’année 2019 fut marquée par l’arrivée de l’esturgeon Etoilé. Sept ans sont nécessaires pour l’élever et faire un caviar nommé Sevruga. Très apprécié par les Russes pour sa couleur grise anthracite à noire de jais, ses petits œufs à la texture fondante et au goût puissant offrent une belle longueur en bouche.

La provenderie

Un aliment sur-mesure pour l’esturgeon

La ferme Acipenser fabrique elle-même l’aliment de ses esturgeons au sein d’une salle prévue à cet effet appelée « provenderie ». Chaque jour, trois tonnes de granulés sont produites. Cette pratique a été adoptée afin de détenir le contrôle sur l’ensemble de la chaîne de production. Ainsi, l’aliment Acipenser permet d’avoir des poissons en bonne santé, d’optimiser leur croissance et de produire un caviar de qualité. La fabrication d’un tel aliment requiert une expertise particulière car il faut croiser les exigences de l’esturgeon et les faisabilités techniques des machines. L’aliment de l’esturgeon est composé de farine de thon et d’huile de poissons bleus, mais aussi de farines végétales non OGM comme le son de riz, de la levure de bière, d’acides aminés, de lécithine de soja et de vitamines. Aucun antibiotique ou hormone n’est utilisé et les matières premières ainsi que les produits finis sont contrôlés systématiquement, que ce soit en interne ou en ayant recours à des laboratoires spécialisés. Afin d’adapter l’aliment à la grosseur de l’esturgeon, l’usine aliment produit plusieurs granulométries différentes. Dans le but de respecter son engagement environnemental et sociétal, 78% des matières premières sont issues de Madagascar.

En découvrir plus sur nos engagements